• Available 24/7
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Free Consultation
  • Morristown Office 973-309-7050
  • Parsippany Office 973-404-7966
The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall

Morris County

NJ Criminal Defense Lawyers

973-309-7050

Our team of skilled attorneys includes former County and Municipal Prosecutors with over 100 years combined experience and is available to assist you immediately.

Free Consultation

Prostitution Lawyer in Morristown NJ

The Law Office of Jonathan F. Marshall is an experienced criminal defense firm serving all of Morris County including towns like Boonton, Hanover, Harding, Madison, Parsippany, Dover or Rockaway. The governing statute in New Jersey for promoting and soliciting prostitution is N.J.S.A. 2C:34-1. As you will see below, typically soliciting prostitution is a disorderly persons (misdemeanor), which means if convicted, a defendant faces up to six (6) months in the Morris County Jail, a fine up to $1,000 and possibly community service. With that being said, promoting prostitution may also be a second, third or fourth degree felony as well. Please see below for more information.

If you or a loved one has been charged with promoting prostitution, endangering the welfare of a child, luring, sexual assault, aggravated sexual assault, criminal sexual contact or aggravated criminal sexual contact in Morris County it is imperative that you speak to an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately about your options. The Law Office of Jonathan F. Marshall has eight criminal defense lawyers on staff, making our office one of the largest criminal defense firms in the State let alone Morris County. If you would like to sit down and discuss your options with any one of the eight criminal defense attorneys on staff please contact our Morristown office at 973.309.7050. Now here is some information on the offense of promoting prostitution in New Jersey.

Promoting Prostitution Lawyer in Dover NJ: N.J.S.A. 2C:34-1

As state above, the governing in New Jersey for promoting prostitution is N.J.S.A. 2C:34-1b, which states in pertinent part:

b. A person commits an offense if:

(1)The actor engages in prostitution;

(2)The actor promotes prostitution;

(3)The actor knowingly promotes prostitution of a child under 18 whether or not the actor mistakenly believed that the child was 18 years of age or older, even if such mistaken belief was reasonable;

(4)The actor knowingly promotes prostitution of the actors child, ward, or any other person for whose care the actor is responsible;

(5)The actor compels another to engage in or promote prostitution;

(6)The actor promotes prostitution of the actors spouse; or

(7)The actor knowingly engages in prostitution with a person under the age of 18, or if the actor enters into or remains in a house of prostitution for the purpose of engaging in sexual activity with a child under the age of 18, or if the actor solicits or requests a child under the age of 18 to engage in sexual activity. It shall be no defense to a prosecution under this paragraph that the actor mistakenly believed that the child was 18 years of age or older, even if such mistaken belief was reasonable.

What are the Penalties for Promoting Prostitution in NJ?

N.J.S.A. 2C:34-1(c) gives the breakdown of what conduct will constitute a disorderly persons offense (misdemeanor) versus a second, third or fourth degree felony. Specifically, N.J.S.A. 2C:34-1(c) states that:

(1)An offense under subsection b. constitutes a crime of the second degree if the offense falls within paragraph (3) or (4) of that subsection.

(2)An offense under subsection b. constitutes a crime of the third degree if the offense falls within paragraph (5), (6) or (7) of that subsection.

(3)An offense under paragraph (2) of subsection b. constitutes a crime of the third degree if the conduct falls within subparagraph (a), (b), or (c) of paragraph (4) of subsection a. Otherwise the offense is a crime of the fourth degree.

(4)An offense under subsection b. constitutes a disorderly persons offense if the offense falls within paragraph (1) of that subsection except that a second or subsequent conviction for such an offense constitutes a crime of the fourth degree.

Second Degree Felony:

  • 5-10 years in State Prison;
  • $150,000 Fine;
  • Community Service;
  • Felony Criminal Record

Third Degree Felony:

  • 3-5 years in State Prison;
  • $15,000 Fine;
  • Community Service;
  • Felony Criminal Record

Fourth Degree Felony:

  • 18 Months in State Prison;
  • $10,000 Fine;
  • Community Service;
  • Felony Criminal Record

Disorderly Persons Offense (Misdemeanor):

  • 6 Months in Morris County Jail;
  • $1,000 Fine;
  • Community Service;
  • Criminal Record

Promoting Prostitution Defense Attorneys in Morris County

The Law Office of Jonathan F. Marshall is an experienced New Jersey criminal defense firm. Our office has been representing clients charged with both soliciting and promoting prostitution in Morris County for over a decade. As you can see from above, not only will a conviction scar you with a permanent criminal record but it could also subject you to a lengthy incarceration period as well. If you would like to sit down with any one of our eight Morris County criminal defense lawyers for a free consultation, please contact our office at 973-309-7050. We are available 24/7 to help assist you in any way possible.