• Available 24/7
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Free Consultation
  • Morristown Office 973-309-7050
  • Parsippany Office 973-404-7966
Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver

Morris County

NJ Criminal Defense Lawyers

973-309-7050

Our team of skilled attorneys includes former County and Municipal Prosecutors with over 100 years combined experience and is available to assist you immediately.

Free Consultation

Assault by Auto

Assault by Auto Lawyers in Morris County NJ

Morristown Assault by Auto Defense Attorneys

The team of Morris County assault by auto defense attorneys at the Law Office of Jonathan Marshall has the experience and skill necessary to successfully defend your freedom. The governing statute in New Jersey for assault by auto is N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(c). As you will see below, depending on the circumstances surrounding the charges, a Defendant could be facing either a second, third or fourth degree felony or even a disorderly persons offense (misdemeanor). Defendant’s charged with assault by auto in Morris County often times find themselves facing aggravated assault, driving while intoxicated, death by auto and terroristic threats charges as well. If you or someone you know has been charged with assault by auto in towns like Morristown Roxbury, Dover, Denville, Mount Olive or Rockaway, the Law Office of Jonathan Marshall can help. Our team of New Jersey assault by auto lawyers has over 100 years of combined experience on staff, including over twenty-five years of prior prosecuting experience. Our Morris County criminal defense lawyers fully understand what a conviction for assault by auto in New Jersey can do to one’s life. If you would like to set up a free initial consultation with any one of our eight Morristown NJ assault by auto defense attorneys please contact us directly at 973-309-7050. Our attorneys are available 24/7 to answer any questions that you might have. Now here is some key information on the offense of assault by auto, including the penalties if convicted.

Morristown NJ Assault by Auto Lawyers: N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(c)

What is considered assault by auto in NJ?

As mentioned above, assault by auto is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(c) in New Jersey. N.J.S.A. states specifically:
“A person is guilty of assault by auto or vessel when the person drives a vehicle or vessel recklessly and causes either serious bodily injury or bodily injury to another…”
Therefore, before a Defendant can be convicted of assault by auto in Morris County, the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the Defendant:

  1. Operated a motor vehicle;
  2. The operation was in a reckless manner;
  3. As a result of the reckless operation, a motor vehicle accident occurred; and
  4. An the accident resulted in some type of injury to another.

With that being said, if defense counsel is able to convince the Judge and the prosecution that the Defendant deserves the opportunity to participate in the Pretrial Intervention Program (PTI) they will be afforded the opportunity to walkaway from these otherwise life changing charges without a criminal record let alone serving a day in jail. For more information on the PTI program please contact our Morristown 973-309-7050 or checkout our Morris County PTI practice series by clicking the link.

Roxbury NJ Assault by Auto Defense Attorneys

As you say above, assault by auto can be either a second, third, fourth felony or even a misdemeanor. The difference between a second degree felony conviction and a misdemeanor could be the difference between a decade in a New Jersey State Prison and a probationary sentence. If you or someone you know has been charged with assault by auto in towns like Madison, Jefferson, Pequanock, Rockaway or Dover, The Law Office of Jonathan Marshall can help. We have been defending individuals charged with assault by auto, aggravated assault, robbery, carjacking and driving under the influence in Morris County for over fifteen years. For a free initial consultation please contact our Morristown office directly at 973-309-7050