Traffic Offense Lawyers in Morris County New Jersey
Parsippany NJ Traffic Offense Attorneys
Under Title 39 of the New Jersey Code, there are literally dozens of traffic offenses that a person can commit. Whether it be speeding, careless driving, reckless driving, failure to stop or yield, a traffic light violation, driving without liability insurance, driving without a license, driving with a suspended license, driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving under the influence (DUI), leaving the scene of an accident, failure to report an accident, failure to wear a seatbelt, obstructing traffic, a parking offense (e.g. parking in a handicapped spot), or a criminal traffic offense, like eluding or vehicular homicide, there are tons of ways for you to accrue points, surcharges, and, ultimately, lose your ability to drive in the State of New Jersey.
The greatest concern typically, though, when we talk about traffic offenses is the suspension of your license and the two most common forms of license suspensions occur as either the result of the accrual of points or as the result of a DWI or DUI. As DWI is dealt with in its entirety separately on our site, due to additional concerns that arise in the DWI/DUI context, we will focus only on points, surcharges, and license suspension related to common traffic offenses. If your or someone you know has been charged with a traffic offense in Morris County, in towns like Madison, Boonton, Hanover, Denville, Roxbury, Mendham or Rockaway, the Law Office of Jonathan F. Marshall can help. If you would like to set up a free initial consultation with any one of our eight Morris County, New Jersey traffic attorneys, please contact our Morristown Office directly at 973-309-7050. Here is a list of some of the key traffic offenses that a Defendant finds themselves facing in Morris County NJ:
- Driving While Intoxicated
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident
- Driving While Suspended
- Driving without Insurance
- Reckless Driving
- Careless Driving
- Failure to Stop
Dover NJ Traffic Defense Attorneys:
The common procedure for the accrual points and potential suspension usually goes as follows. The Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission will provide a warning to a licensed driver whenever such a driver has accumulated six or more points. When the driver has reached a total of 12 points, the Chief Administrator will impose an administrative suspension. The term of suspension will range between 30 and 180 days when the points were accumulated over a period of two years or less. A suspension will also be imposed when the driver accumulates 15 or more points during a period greater than two years. The New Jersey Administrative Code provides a schedule of suspension terms for other point accumulations over periods of time. A person who is subject to a proposed suspension for a point accumulation is entitled to a hearing before an administrative law judge. As a practical matter, many of these point suspensions are resolved by a negotiated settlement at a pre-hearing conference at the Motor Vehicle Commission that is routinely scheduled well in advance of the hearing date.
Most, if not all of these traffic violations that qualify for the imposition of points also carry with them the possibility of surcharges that can range anywhere from $50 to $500 with possible exposure to penalties being doubled in certain areas, like school zones, work zones, or 65 M.P.H. highways. New Jersey does, however, provide three ways to reduce points legally. First, points are reduced by the mere passage of time. For every year that a driver can go without receiving a new violation, he or she will receive a three-point credit. A driver may also receive a two-point credit by completing an authorized defensive driving course. Although a driver may take a defensive driving course as often as he or she desires, the two-point reduction is only available once every five years. Finally, a driver may receive a three-point credit if he or she can successfully complete a driver improvement course sponsored by the Division of Motor Vehicles.
Experienced Morris County Traffic Defense Attorneys
To these three options that reduce points, we would propose to you a fourth. Having an experienced attorney who knows the ins and outs of New Jersey Traffic Offenses, the points system, and the applicable surcharges can greatly reduce the cost to you, points on your license, and the possibility of suspension. Here at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, we have over 200 years of collective experience helping out clients with their traffic offenses, defending against the suspension of licenses, and getting our clients their licenses back. So if you or your loved one has been having trouble with traffic offenses in Camden County, points, surcharges, or suspension of license, please do not hesitate to contact us today for a free consultation with an experienced attorney about the particulars of your case.