The team of eight Morristown, New Jersey disorderly conduct defense lawyers on staff at the law firm of Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver are prepared to aggressively fight to protect your freedom. The offense of disorderly conduct is one of the most common charges litigated in the Morris County Municipal Courts, including but not limited too Morristown, Dover, Parsippany, Denville, Roxbury and Rockaway. The offense of disorderly conduct is considered a misdemeanor in New Jersey. The governing statute in New Jersey for disorderly conduct is N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2(a). If convicted, a Defendant could be sentenced up to thirty days in the Morris County Jail, fined up to $500, placed on probation, issued community service and scared with a criminal record. If you or someone you know has been charged with disorderly conduct, simple assault, shoplifting, harassment, aggravated assault, or possession of marijuana under 50 grams, the law offices of Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver, can help. If you would like to discuss your options with any one of our eight Morristown NJ disorderly conduct defense lawyers please contact us directly at 973-309-7050. Our Morris County New Jersey criminal defense attorneys are available 24/7 to answer any questions that you might have. Now here is some key information on disorderly conduct, including the applicable penalties if convicted.
Dover NJ Disorderly Conduct Attorneys: N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2(a)
As stated above, disorderly conduct is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2(a), which declares as follows:
a. Improper Behavior. A person is guilty of a petty disorderly persons offense, if with the purpose to cause public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, or recklessly creating a risk thereof he
(1) Engages in fighting or threatening, or in violent or tumultuous behavior; or
(2) Creates a hazardous or physically dangerous condition by any act which serves no legitimate purpose of the actor.
b. Offensive Language. A person is guilty of a petty disorderly persons offense if, in a public place, and with the purpose to offend the sensibilities of a hearer or in reckless disregard of the probability of so doing, he addresses unreasonably loud and offensively course or abusive language, given the circumstances of the person present and the setting of the utterance, to any person present.
Some examples of what will be considered a “public place” under the statute are highways, transport facilities, schools, prisons, apartment houses, places of business or amusement, or any neighborhood.
Will I go to Jail if Convicted of Disorderly Conduct in NJ?
If you or a loved on is convicted of disorderly conduct in Morris County or elsewhere in New Jersey, you will face the following penalties:
(1) Up to thirty (30) days in Jail
(2) Up to a $500 fine
(3) Community Service
(5) Criminal Record
With that being said, New Jersey has recently created a diversionary program known as Conditional Dismissal. If a defendant is eligible and defense counsel can convince the Judge that they deserve an opportunity to participate in the program, the defendant will be placed on pronation for one year and if they successfully complete the program the criminal charges will be dismissed. For more information on the conditional dismissal program, please click here.
Denville NJ Disorderly Conduct Defense Lawyers
As you can tell, a conviction for disorderly conduct can have a devastating impact on one’s life. Typically, a Defendant finds themselves facing a disorderly conduct charge as result of alcohol driven incident. It is imperative that you seek the assistance of an experienced Morris County disorderly conduct defense firms about your options immediately. Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver has the experience and skill set required to successfully represent your interests. If you would like to set up a consultation with any one of our eight Dover, NJ disorderly conduct defense lawyers, please contact our Morristown 973-309-7050.