2nd Degree Aggravated Assault Defense Lawyers in Morris County NJ
What are the Penalties for a Second Degree Felony in NJ?
While not as severe as a first degree offense, convictions for a second degree offense in New Jersey also carry a presumption of incarceration as well. This means that without a strong and persuasive defense, the court will likely require a term of incarceration for the defendant. Generally, second degree crimes in Morris County with be handled at the Morris County Superior Court, unless the charges are downgraded to the local Municipal Court. Often times, these second degree charges are supplemented by third degree, fourth degree and disorderly persons offenses. The legal defense team at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall has the knowledge and resources necessary to handle second degree and accompanying charges in Morris County. Our attorneys are experienced in handling all types of second degree offenses ranging from aggravated assault, burglary, sexual assault, theft by deception, cocaine distribution, possession of heroin with the intent to distribute at the Morris County Superior Court level. If you or a loved one have been charged with a second degree crime in Morris County, in towns like Roxbury, Mount Olive, Denville, Dover, Boonton, Butler, Pequannock or Madison, please contact our Morristown or Parsippany office at 973-309-7050 for your free consultation.
What are some Second Degree Crimes NJ?
There are an assortment of crimes that will result in second degree charges. These crimes are all listed under the New Jersey Criminal Code and apply not only to Morris County but the entire state of New Jersey. Some of the more common second degree crimes are reckless manslaughter, death by auto, aggravated arson, receiving stolen property, burglary, endangering the welfare of a child, unlawful possession of a handgun and certain other white collar crimes. These second degree charges will require an indictment proceeding headed by the Morris County Prosecutor’s Office. The potential repercussions to a second degree conviction will reverberate throughout the rest of your life.
Second Degree Crime Penalties NJ
Second degree crimes, absent statutory provisions that would enhance these penalties, carry between five (5) and ten (10) years in a New Jersey State Penitentiary. In addition to any jail time, the court may impose a fine up to $150,000. These penalties may also be increased if the defendant has a prior criminal record. Moreover, indictable crimes will not allow you to pursue diversionary programs such as Pre-Trial Intervention. In an effort to avoid incarceration, second degree charges require strong legal counsel to obtain a downgrade or complete dismissal.
Experienced Morris County NJ Criminal Defense Firm
The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall has over 100 years of experience handling criminal cases. Our attorneys have handled second degree offenses on numerous occasions in Morris County and understand how to obtain a downgrade of charges, if not a complete dismissal. Contact one of our Morris County offices today and speak with an attorney about your second degree charge.