• Available 24/7
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Free Consultation
  • Morristown Office 973-309-7050
  • Parsippany Office 973-404-7966
Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver

Morris County

NJ Criminal Defense Lawyers

973-309-7050

Our team of skilled attorneys includes former County and Municipal Prosecutors with over 100 years combined experience and is available to assist you immediately.

Free Consultation

Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyers in Madison NJ

Although most people feel that underage possession of alcohol is a minor offense in New Jersey they could not be anymore wrong. If you or a loved one has been charged with either possession of alcohol underage, consumption of alcohol underage or under the influence of alcohol underage the penalties if convicted can be devastating. Not only will the Defendant be scared with a criminal record but they will also be facing a high fine and mandatory six (6) month loss of license. Almost all of the underage possession of alcohol charges issued in Morris County revolve around either a high school or college party gone wrong. With that being said, most individual’s do not even fathom how a conviction for this offense can affect the rest of their lives. A criminal record could not only affect one’s ability to get into college but it could also affect one’s ability to obtain gainful employment.

If you or your child has been charged with underage possession of alcohol in Morris County, in towns like Madison, Chatham, Morristown, Dover, Denville, Parsippany, Roxbury or Mount Olive, the Law Office of Marshall, Bonus, Proetta & Oliver can help. Our office has over 10o years of combined experience on staff, including years of prior prosecuting experience. We fully understand how what seems as a minor conviction for underage possession of alcohol can affect the rest of someone’s life. If you would like come into our office to discuss your options then please contact our Morristown office at 973.309.7050. Our attorneys are available 24/7 to help assist in any way possible. No here is some key information on the offense of underage possession of alcohol.

Underage Possession of Alcohol Lawyers in Morristown NJ

Underage Possession of Alcohol: N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15

The governing statute in New Jersey for underage possession of alcohol is N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15(a). Pursuant to the code, it is unlawful for anyone to purchase and/or possess and/or consume alcohol while under the age of twenty-one (21). This offense is considered a disorderly persons offense, also known as a misdemeanor. If convicted, a Defendant could face up to six (6) months in the Morris County Jail, a fine up too $1,000 and possibly court mandated inpatient or outpatient treatment for up to six (6) months.  In addition, if the violation occurred  in a motor vehicle, the Defendant would be required to serve a six (6) month license suspension as well.

Possession of Alcohol Underage Attorneys in Rockaway NJ

As you can tell from above, if you or a loved one is convicted of possession of alcohol underage in Morris County, the penalties can be life changing. Our office has eight criminal defense attorneys on staff ready and eager to defend your case. We have been defending individuals charged with underage possession of alcohol, underage DWI, possession of marijuana under 50 grams, simple assault, possession of a fake id and terroristic threats in Morris County for over a decade. To schedule a free initial consultation today, please contact our Morristown office at 973.309.7050.  We are available 24/7 to help assist in any way possible.